The most magical thing happened last night.

But first a quick note. I got a Starbucks gift card for Christmas from my nephew. He adorned that gift card with his own artwork. He’s 5 years old and he drew this:

wp-1484271836751.jpg

That’s my nephew and I “crashing”. Crashing is where we get down on the floor on all fours and he crashes into me head first and then I go flying. I love goofing around with that little guy and this gift card makes me smile every single time I use it.

So here I am back at Starbucks!

Last night right after I posted my blog something cool happened. Remember how I ended the first ever blog post on this journey to find meaning and purpose? I called out the Universe to send me a signal.

And it did.

I decided I wanted to have interesting conversations with interesting people more often. So I post my blog, get up and pack my bag and then grab one last coffee for the road. The next moment I am watching a guy doing a really great cartoon like drawing on his laptop using a stylus and a pad that’s connected by USB to that laptop.

It’s great. And it’s interesting. So the Universe sent me a moment right away and tested me. Would I live up to my own proclamation to interact with interesting people?

Well, yes. I would.

Turns out his name is Armin and he is working on a story with artwork. He’s doing both aspects. Crazy interesting guy. He’s a scientist and has a masters in graphic design. Undergrad science. Masters design. A very interesting combination.

Dude has talent. I loved that he wanted to do a story for his work and he found a way to make that happen. Pitched it. They loved it. Got some budget. And he’s working on it. His current passion project if you will. Graphic design is where he wants to end up. From what I saw? Only a matter of time.

Here I am looking for a sign and the first person I see after posting that blog last night is a guy who is working on his purpose. Thanks Universe. I mean I know I am not the most observant but you didn’t have to hit me over the head with a sledgehammer like that.

Or maybe you did.

I left Starbucks last night in a great mood. I blogged. (Which I love!) I had a great chat with an interesting and inspiring person. Out of the blue. And he recommended an interesting podcast to which I am currently listening. (Ted Radio Hour. Worth a subscribe. Armin recommended the episode I am listening to now. It’s called Simply Happy.)

That’s a great start.

And it reminds me that I wanted to add listening to Podcasts to my list of things to try in order to find my purpose.

To continue my work towards figuring out my purpose I went to the library today and took out a few books.

wp-1484271841522.jpg

I figured the more I know about blogging the better. I have a book that I will finish this year. And blogging it might make sense. At the bottom is a book about Prussia. I have always wanted to know more about Prussia and it’s history. So I picked up Iron Kingdom by Christopher Clark. How To Blog A Book by Nina Amir and Delusions of Gender by Cordelia Fine. My girlfriend and I have been talking and thinking a lot about gender lately. Gender roles and ideals. Myths. The lack of need for gender in a modern society. So that book spoke to me as well.

So later tonight I will spend some time with one of these great looking books.

On top of all of that I did Yoga again today. A really hard one today. Lots of core. And I feel great. I am loving the Yoga to a level I didn’t expect. Tomorrow night I might go play basketball, which I LOVE, but I will miss the Yoga.

The other thing I did today that I am going to continue to work on is meditation and visualization. I meditated for about 5 minutes. The goal? Not to think anything. Simply count my breaths. Restart the count each time I think about anything else. I got to 3. In 5 minutes the best I could do was just about 3 seconds. Work to do! But again it felt great.

And then to finish up the meditation I visualized. Visualized where I want my life to be and what I want it to look like in about 5 years. It was a fascinating experience. I could picture the family. Jen and the kids. The house. The yard. Pretty vividly. Pretty rural. Lots of open spaces and fresh air. And I was working from home! Yay!

The problem?

I couldn’t see what I was doing. No matter how I tried I could only see myself sitting at a laptop in a small work space in the house. I couldn’t see it from a first person perspective. I was watching myself work. I couldn’t see the laptop screen. I couldn’t figure out what I was doing. I could sense that I liked it and was enjoying it. But what was it?

WHAT WAS IT?!?!?!?!

Ahhhhh.

It’s okay. I am not really that upset. In fact I was happy. I was working from home. I like that idea. A lot. As for the rest? I will get there. It’s only day 2!!

