In a fit of put desperation I took to Twitter a few nights ago to ask for help. Twitter. For help. Like I said….desperation. Pure desperation.

The problem? I set myself a goal of trying something new each month for all of 2017. Sounds easy, right? 12 new things. One a month. Easy. And then I start thinking about it. Trying to come up with ideas. Something I would like to try but haven’t. Something that might be fun. Or challenging. Or mind expanding.

Something.

Twitter, you may be wondering, was no help whatsoever. So once again I am on my own trying to think of new things to try.

I mentioned in a previous post that a friend of mine did a try a new thing a month type journey a few years ago. I have reached out to her for suggestions. In the meantime I need to get to work.

The very first day of 2016 I tried snowboarding for the first, and so far only, time. It was fun but I didn’t LOVE it. A few months later I tried kayaking for the first time ever. And that I did love. I really loved it. I went back and did a few classes. And loved it. I will be doing a lot more kayaking in the coming years.

But then that’s kind of it for trying to new things in 2016. I was hoping to do more camping. Do my first ever overnight hike. But the opportunity didn’t come up. (Or more precisely I didn’t make that opportunity happen.)

The reasons for doing this? Well, for one I want to find more kayakings. More things I love doing that I didn’t know I loved doing because I hadn’t tried them yet. I want to experience things. I want to get out of my comfort zone. (This is a big reason for doing this entire journey and this aspect of it specifically.) I may want to be a writer at least in some regards and maybe just on the side but to be a writer it feels like it would be helpful to actually do things. Plus I want to see what makes me excited and passionate and then see if there are ways to incorporate more of that into my life and maybe my working life.

Keeping that process up throughout a year can be tough. I know from experience. So my plan is to have 12 things mapped out and then try one a month. The benefits of this plan are that I only have to spend X amount of time thinking about what to do and then that weight is off my mind. Plus I can plan ahead in terms of researching, finding equipment, planning, etc, etc.

It’s been almost a week since I started this blog and I haven’t thought of one new thing to try. Not one. So clearly thinking about it sometimes for a few seconds and then thinking about something else….well….just isn’t good enough.

I need to brainstorm!!!! (I said that in my head in a very Oprah-ish voice. And it was AWESOME!!!)

Let’s start with a few categories. Like sports. Is there I sport I haven’t tried that I would like to try? Is skiiing different enough from snowboarding to warrant being on this list? Having said that just know I realize that I do want to try snowshoeing. That’s on the list.

  1. Snowshoeing
  2. Overnight hike

There we go. The list has been started.

Some of these things are season specific. Which I realize now is another good reason to plan ahead.

There is something that I want to try. The one thing that could have been on the list since day one but that I am scared to put down on this blog. The thought of doing it is scary. Heck, just to put it out in to the world is scary. Telling people about it is scary. Doing it? Wow. But it’s something I have sort of always wanted to try on some level. Something my instincts tell me I might be decent at if I gave it a whirl. Something fun and challenging with instant rewards.

But I can’t bring myself to say it.

One thing I do want to try or have been thinking about trying is a weekly podcast. Or maybe a vlog. I could create a YouTube series on a topic like personal development and tie it in to this blog and my book. I have experience, life experience at least, in overcoming some obstacles. In chasing a dream job and realizing it wasn’t my dream and now here I am working on finding my purpose. So let’s add that to the list.

 

  1. Snowshoeing
  2. Overnight Hike
  3. Podcast and/or vlog

Are there fitness things I want to try? I have never done Pilates. Or taken a dance class. My girlfriend is a dance studio owner and teacher. We’ve talked about taking a class together despite the damage it would likely do to her feet. And my ego.

But let’s add it.

  1. Snowshoeing
  2. Overnight Hike
  3. Podcast/Vlog
  4. Dance Class
  5. Pilates or similar fitness craze

Almost half way.

Oh you know what. Screw it. Courage Feeney.

I want to try stand up comedy.

Oh no. What have I done? I out it out there. Now I have to put it on the list and even worse eventually go do it. Well, I guess I will schedule it for December and hope Trump has ended the world before then.

  1. Snowshoeing
  2. Overnight Hike
  3. Podcast/vlog
  4. Dance Class (Preferably something ballroomish)
  5. Pilates
  6. Stand up

Halfway. It’s all mentally down hill from here.

Classes. There might be gold to be mined in this vein. Are there other classes I would like to take? I have never taken a cooking class. And I would like to learn to cook Indian food. And maybe a writing class? You might be able to tell me better than I can judge for myself. But I am thinking it couldn’t go amiss.

  1. Snowshoeing
  2. Overnight Hike
  3. Podcast/vlog
  4. Ballroomish Dance Class
  5. Pilates
  6. Stand up (AHHHHH!!!!!)
  7. Indian style cooking class
  8. Writing Class

Four more. I can do this. It isn’t taking nearly as long as I thought. The juices are flowing now. Juice? Hmmm. No nothing there. Flow? Nothing there either.

What about thrill seeking? That would really get me out of my comfort zone. Bungee jumping? Skydiving? I’ve never been on a roller-coaster and my girlfriend loves them. I feel like that’s a better common ground from which to start.

Now is it cheating, since I said I wanted to volunteer more, to add that to this list as well? It feels like maybe it is a bit. Plus I have volunteered before and so then I would have to be very specific about the type of volunteering. So that’s probably a non-starter.

I am curious about what CrossFit is all about. I’ve heard so much about it. Both good and bad. Maybe I should check it out myself?

  1. Snowshoeing
  2. Overnight Hike
  3. Podcast/Vlog
  4. Ballroomish type dance class
  5. Pilates
  6. Stand up (Ahhhhhh!#@!$$#@)
  7. Indianish type cooking class
  8. Writing class
  9. Roller-coaster (Also, ahhhhhhhh!@@#%#!)
  10. Crossfit

Two more.

Eating food in the dark. Always wanted to try one of those restaurants.

And one last one…..still thinking….anyone?

Okay. Final list in chronological (of when I thought of them while writing this post) order:

  1. Snowshoeing
  2. Overnight Hike
  3. Podcast/Vlog
  4. Ballroomish type dance class
  5. Pilates
  6. Stand up (Ahhhhhh!#@!$$#@)
  7. Indianish type cooking class
  8. Writing class
  9. Roller-coaster (Also, ahhhhhhhh!@@#%#!)
  10. CrossFit
  11. Eating in one of those dark room restaurants
  12. _____________

Let’s leave #12 blank for now. It gives me something to think about on my drives in to work. Plus it gives us room for suggestions in the comments down below! (wink, wink) And a little room for some spontaneity!

Now to decide which of these things to do first!

