We won’t compromise. We won’t rush. We won’t complicate.

I said that to my girlfriend last night in the car on the way home from a busy day visiting family. We were discussing a current search and decision facing us and I thought about it a lot after I said it.

We won’t compromise.

We won’t rush.

We won’t complicate.

We won’t compromise. There are a few things we must have and our search will not be complete until we have them. There are also a few things we want to have but we won’t compromise. In other words, we won’t give up the things that we have to have because there are nice things that we want to have. Simply put we won’t give up the search until we have what we want. There will be no settling. No matter how long it takes.

And speaking of time we aren’t going to rush into a decision. We aren’t going to BE rushed into a decision. The process will happen in due time. My feeling is that people can often be in a hurry to get to where they want to go whether that’s a decision or reaching a goal or completing a task etc etc. There’s nothing wrong with moving quickly when the time comes. Seizing on opportunity. Snatching up something good. If in due time means quickly that’s fine. But rushing? It leads to poor decisions, compromises, mistakes and regrets.

We won’t complicate. There’s always a risk of tying yourself in knots trying to figure out how to make something work. “If we do this then we can maybe make this work so that we can get that and then this might happen and……” If we have to try to wriggle around to make something work we don’t feel it’s worth it. The more you have to add complications the less in touch you become. The universe is right with you and trying to help guide you so long as you are in touch with it’s energy. Listen to what the universe is telling you. The more complicated the less likely it is that you are feeling that guiding hand.

Now the more I think about it the more I think I want to add these principles to my every day life. And I especially want to add them to my writing.

There have been a few blog posts so far where I kind of threw them together quick, gave them a brief glance for errors and then posted. I may have been in a rush for whatever reason and just wanted to get something up on the blog.

There have been other times when I have complicated things in my writing that didn’t need complicating. One of my goals as a writer is to be as clear and concise as possible. Entertaining and informative are good principles for which to strive as well. But a lot of the message can get lost if the writer needlessly complicates the text.

And I won’t compromise. My vision. My feelings. My personal ethos. I won’t compromise any of it. For a very recent example I almost didn’t put in the part three paragraphs ago about the guiding hand of the universe. I thought maybe it was too flowery. Too hippy. People would maybe think I am a bit weird. Or too spiritual. But I believe that deeply. I have experienced the way life seems to click into place and become very easy when I feel in touch with the universe’s plan for me and my life. So I won’t compromise what I want to write based on concerns about how my words might be interpreted. What can be more important than believing and standing by the words that I write?

This wasn’t what I was going to write about today. But after saying it last night and thinking about it a lot I decided those three sentences were going to be principles that would inform my life and this blog moving forward.

No compromising. No rushing. No complicating.

 

