After a few weeks of searching I have selected the newspaper that I am going to be reading as part of my search.

First a quick recap. When I first launched this blog I figured that reading the newspaper and noticing the kinds of articles, and the topics of those articles, I was reading would be instructive. If I find myself draw to a certain topic or topics then it stands to reason that those are areas in which I should concentrate my search. Or at the very least those are areas that I should continue investing my time if for no other reason than they interest me and enrich my experience of life.

Then I set about trying to find the right newspaper. National, local or international? Left leaning? Right leaning so as to challenge my beliefs? As neutral as possible? I had a lot more questions than answers. Which is why it took a while to figure this thing out.

But I have figured it out.

Reuters.

How I figured it out was simple. I just read a lot of stuff online. Local stories. International stories. Stories from various sources. The Washington Post. The New York Times. Papers from London, Toronto and more.

But when it came down to it I was drawn to Reuters. The way they plan to cover the presidency of Donald Trump grabbed me and after that I was finding myself more and more drawn to their coverage.

I didn’t select Reuters. They selected me.

So now it’s time to really get into the stories that really draw my interest. In the early going I am finding myself drawn to international stories especially regarding trade and business. I am drawn to stories detailing a resistance to Trump that I find interesting. And I am particularly grabbed by stories about innovation and scientific discovery.

I have a feeling I will be reading a lot more about the future of science.

And with that decided it’s time for me to look to February and my next new experience. Snowshoeing is on the list and that’s one I either have to plan for in the very near future or plan for at the end of the year. It’s that or finding a class to take or maybe launching a podcast or vlog or both. Something to think about in the next week or so for sure.

As for now? Time to get back to my girlfriend and our “do nothing” day. And back into the next episode of The OA!! We are bingeing the heck out of this show today. No spoilers!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you are enjoying my blog please like and share it with your friends. You can find me on Twitter @LearningPurpose as well as on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/FeeneyBlogs

